Thread: Penn State Cyclone TEMP142CX Info.

Penn State Cyclone TEMP142CX Info.

My friend is selling a Penn State Tempest TEMP142CX ( http://www.pennstateind.com/store/temp142cx.html ). He is out of state so I really can't look at it except for pictures.

My shop in in my garage. I currently have a Jet canister DC set up like a central dust collection system. I'm concerned I won't have space for the cyclone. I probably have plenty of room for the main unit (I have a 9' ceiling and 31"x39" footprint), but, probably not enough floor space for the canister filter. I have hear (but not seen) that it is possible to ceiling mount the filters.

Questions:

1) Anyone have this unit (likes/dislikes)?

2) Anyone ceiling mount the filter (if so pic's)?

3) Can the motor assembly be indexed differently on the top?

4) Does the muffler cut the noise well?

Thanks

Mike, I have no particular experience with Penn State's cyclones but generally they aren't regarded to be as well designed as Oneida or Clearvue. I did have a Penn State bag style dust collector which was reasonably well made.

Comparing the airflow of the PS cyclone you are looking at with the Oneida 2HP Dust Gorilla, the max airflow (which is at lowest static pressure--not somewhere you are going to actually operate the cyclone) is about 25% less. You didn't say which Jet you have to compare.

Assuming the airflow is reasonable, the next big problem with cyclone design is less than perfect separation, meaning more stuff gets into the filters. If you could vent your cyclone outside that would eliminate that problem from a health point of view. It would also elminiate your filter room problem. However, if you are in a subidvision or have any other reasons why venting some dust outside would be a problem that obviously won't work. Theoretically this creates a heating/cooling problem, but I vent outside and haven't seen a significant impact and I know others do as well.