Thread: Lots of firsts....black palm, mother of pearl, etc.

Lots of firsts....black palm, mother of pearl, etc.

Well, I guess if you are going to jump in it might as well be with both feet, right? This is my first attempt at making some bottle stoppers and I had to start off with black palm. What a PITA it was even with stabilizing with CA about 15 times! The finish on the two palm stoppers is BLO & CA with HUT wax. The other two are Bocote and Rosewood with mother of pearl inlays. Fist time for inlaying as well. Lots of fun and learned a lot! The finish on those is just the two step HUT wax.

Who says you can't turn wood on a little Sherline metal lathe? Sorry for the crummy cell phone pics. I will have to get my wife to take some better ones after she sees them on Christmas day.

Much better than no pics, we can at least comment on your style, which I like a lot.
    Funny, I was looking through some old used jewelery today and some mother of pearl caught my eye...hmmm, I bet I could inlay some of that...

Steve, you did a very nice job with the black palm, that stuff gave me fits. You did a great job all round! More power to you! Bet she loves them! Merry Christmas! Jude

Nice shapes. Very practical and classic.

I'm not really an artistically creative guy. I can take an existing shape or idea and make it my own or give a reasonable copy of shape so that it pleases my eye, but for just stepping up and creating a "new" shape, that is a real challenge for me. Not sure why, but it is.