Thread: Used 20" Jet Bandsaw advice?

Used 20" Jet Bandsaw advice?

I am about to check out a used 20" Jet bandsaw. I have no experience with bandsaws and I do not want to make a hobby out of rebuilding tools. I have the checklist from the Bandsaw book and will not buy it if I see any damage or obvious wear beyond paint and tires.

Does anyone have either warnings or encouragement about buying this tool for $600. (My current plan if I do not buy this one is to buy a Grizzly G0513X2 in a couple of months).

I just talked with the seller. It is about 15-16 years old. Blue paint job. He says it works and just needs oiling since he has used a different saw in the last year.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by Brian Kent; 12-31-2007 at 3:04 PM.
    Veni Vidi Vendi Vente! I came, I saw, I bought a large coffee!

Quote Originally Posted by Brian Kent View Post
    I am about to check out a used 20" Jet bandsaw. I have no experience with bandsaws and I do not want to make a hobby out of rebuilding tools. I have the checklist from the Bandsaw book and will not buy it if I see any damage or obvious wear beyond paint and tires.

Does anyone have either warnings or encouragement about buying this tool for $600. (My current plan if I do not buy this one is to buy a Grizzly G0513X2 in a couple of months).

Brian - I looked this tool up and it has a 2 hp 230v motor. If you are not wanting more than a 12" resaw - this saw should be pretty good. It is definately in the clone of the newer Powermatics - as WMH tool group owns both JET AND PM.

A 20" BS is a nice size saw to have. The extra table space is nice. If you can run it and make a few cuts that would be preferable. If the seller has it well tuned, it should serve you well. For general work, nothing heavy, I imagine its pretty solid. Higher tension blades like Lenox TriMaster are probably off limits - as the frame is just not stiff enough.

SO - I'd say its a light duty saw, not that this is a bad thing.