Thread: New shop - spray/finish area

Smile New shop - spray/finish area

New shop is still progressing slowly. I have full power and am currently completing the heating system (hot water base boards, nicely located under work benches on opposite ends of the shop) I will not have a dedicated finishing room. I just do not want to give up the real estate even though the shop is 25x25. What have you done for a break down finshing area? or do you simply "air out" the shop and then finish? I am new to spraying and will be doing that also, any input/ideas alonf those lines?
    Thank you,

Hi Paul. I'm new to spraying myself and am having the same thoughts. If you check the latest issue of FWW and/or Jeff Jewitts book, "Great Wood Finishes", you will get some practical ideas for a portable spray booth.

Stan
    Project Salvager

The key to the gateway of wisdom is to know that you don't know.______Stan Smith

I would suggest a separate space that has filtered air in and explosion proof fans forcing air out. It all depends on what else you have in your shop. For example, if you use some finish that is explosive, do you have a hot water heater located in the same air space? How long will the finish take to dry? Could you be breathing the fumes the next several days or be prevented from using equipment that sparks (motors) during the curing time? Do you need to keep your entire shop heated during the drying time or is it already heated.

Space limitations always cause a problem but there are some alternatives for re-use of that finishing space when not actually finishing. You could make your stock racks portable (wheels) so the stock racks could be kept in that room. In fact, you could make that a drying room for when not doing finishing. To make the racks more portable, besides just wheels, you could make a small motorized puller to drag heavy racks around (ever seen a puller for small planes?)