Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Your Day Job

Your Day Job

I started a like titled thread in a contributer only forum and got loads of replies. Some wanted to see what the reponse would be from an forum that is open to all...so here goes.

Many of use here are part time woodworkers or, in my case, a wanna be WW. So the question begs to be asked "What do you do in your day job?"

Thanks for sharing!

Oops...first edit as I forgot to share what I do!

I work for a large oil drilling contractor repairing and building oil rigs for the offshore drilling industry. Prior to that, I designed compressors and compressor packages from 30 Hp up to 5,000 Hp. As for my WW resume, I have built a few pieces of firewood but nothing that really makes me satisfied. I am buying my tools now and hope to have a shop setup soon.

Chris
    Last edited by Chris Foley; 01-05-2008 at 12:33 PM.

Some where between Buffalo and Rochester NY
    Well up till 8 years ago I was a raod side deisel tech. I got to plat in the mud, snow and slush fixing tractor trailers and sometime earth moveing equipment. Then I blew my back out. I went back to school for elecetronics and couldnt do that either(Car acceident, tore my shoulder apart). So after two shopulder surgeries and one back operation, I sit home and pretend to make things when i'm felling good.

Blog Entries
    Well, my daytime job is the owner of Audio 2000 and WYCO offroad center. It's amazing that I even have time to pick up a piece of wood.
    What you listen to is your business....what you hear is ours.

Heavy vehicle development engineer. I'm the lucky guy who gets to test drive all test trucks with our new suspensions.
    Remember a bad day in the shop is much better than a good day at the office!

Gain additional features, benefits and ad-free access to SMC --> Contribute

** Quick note on why this is not in the Off Topic Forum **