Thread: Right and Left Tilt Table Saws

Right and Left Tilt Table Saws

Can anyone tell me why Table Saw Manufactures build right tilt saws?
    Everything I read tells us that the left tilt are safer..

Also difference between a riving knife and a splitter ?

Thanks
    Last edited by Art Travers; 01-06-2008 at 2:01 PM. Reason: spelling error

Actually, I think right tilt are supposed to be safer if you are using a sliding table, and making bevelled cuts. Other wise, left tilt is safer. The riving knife automatically goes up and down with the blade. It also tilts with the blade. A splitter doesn't do either of those, but is better for straight 90 rips, and probably cross cuts, than not using anything. Can't use the splitter for bevelled cuts. Jim.
    Coolmeadow Setters...Exclusively Irish! When Irish Eyes are smiling....They're usually up to something!!
    Home of Irish Setter Rescue of North Texas.
    No, I'm not an electrician. Any information I share is purely what I would do myself. If in doubt, hire an electrician!
    Member of the G0691 fan club!
    At a minimum, I'm Pentatoxic...Most likely I'm a Pentaholic. There seems to be no known cure. Pentatonix, winners of The Sing Off, s3.

In the old days when there were only right tilt saws we were taught that it tilted right away from your hands when using the miter gauge. I used a left tilt saw a few times and it made me uncomfortable having the blade tilted towards me. I'm glad I have a right tilt saw.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim O'Dell View Post
    The riving knife automatically goes up and down with the blade. It also tilts with the blade. A splitter doesn't do either of those, but is better for straight 90 rips, and probably cross cuts
    Not true. The splitter on my TS3650 tilts with the sawblade, which is not unique in design.