Thread: Shopnotes drawings

Shopnotes drawings

Sometimes I wonder how they do the drawings in the shopnotes mag. Is there some software available to do that? or are they sketch up drawings? Though I am still learning sketch up

don't know how SN does it, but want to know what the answers look like

Ben, good question. I too have often asked myself that same question. Wonder whether it has been asked over at woodnet, the discourse board sponsored by august home, owner of SN?

Any decent CAD program should be able to do 3D drawings. There is Isometric drawing and Perspective drawing. Isometric drawing uses vertical lines, just like you would see them, but horizontal lines are drawn at 30 degree angles above, or below horizontal. the vertical and horizontal dimensions are the same as in a 2D drawing.
    Perspective is somewhat similar, except that the horizontal lines are angled to a "vanishing point". The dimensions tend to be distorted in perspective drawing.
    Without their magazine in front of me, I am not sure which one they may use, but I believe that it is isometric.

Regards, Colin

I know from my conversations with friends at WOOD Magazine a few years ago when I was taking "the tour" of their offices, shops and testing facilities, that all the diagrams used to be done by hand, but they do use software now. Unfortunately, I cannot remember any information about "what" software at this point...

I have little doubt that August Home is using the same or similar software since they hired the art dude away from WOOD not long after my visit to Des Moines if my memories are sound on that.
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...