Thread: Jointer dilemma

Jointer dilemma

I have a dilemma that I'm hoping you guys can straighten me out on. I keep going back and forth on this. Here's my situation:

I am new to woodworking and seem to be delving deeper and deeper each month. So far I have been concentrating on outdoor furniture and shop furniture. Eventually I will want to get into the finer stuff. Initially I was working with all hand/portable power tools and packing everything away when not using them, but things have changed recently and I decided to take over about 2/3's of my 21'x21' garage.

I have a full EZ Smart setup with circular saw. I have all the other hand tools you might want including router, router table, and EZ router attachment. I recently purchased the Ridgid belt/spindle sander and yesterday I picked up the Steel City drill press. I plan to complete my major purchases with 3 more items - a Grizzly 17" bandsaw, and a planer and jointer. I am skipping the table saw.

My issue is with the planer and jointer. I am down to 2 options:
    1. Get the Jet combo machine which runs ~$1700.
    2. Get a lunchbox planer like the Ridgid R4330 or Dewalt 734, and get a cheaper, smaller jointer.

The reason for my dilema is due to dust collection, space, power, and money.

For power, I only have a 30 amp sub panel in the garage. I think it will be enough, but I would be cutting it close with the 3HP Jet machine along with a 1.5HP dust collector, which I would need with such a large machine.

I really want to skip the large dust collector and just use my Ridgid 1850 with a mini cyclone attachment. I think if I stick to option 2, with only a 6" jointer, it should be just enough. Most of the year I can work with the garage doors open and fans going.