Thread: Drilling pen blanks, general help

Drilling pen blanks, general help

Is it better to cut the pens in half before drilling?
    Also how musc longer should the blank be than the pen, will there be any chipping while drilling(I'm sure it depends on the material)

I'm new to pens and would like to learn right the first time

Any information that you have on the do's and don't is appriciated, like I said I have never done pens.

Thanks

Re:

I havn't done a lot of pens but I always drill each piece individually. I usually cut the pieces 1/8 - 1/4 long then use a 3/4 cutter to trim the ends square after I glue the tube in. Hope this helps.

Tim!

The shorter they are, the better chance you have to not blow out the side of the blank. Most man made materials will blowout the bottom when the bit breaks through. I cut them 5/16 long and make sure the best part is up when I drill. I made my blank vise out of a Jorgenson claamp ala Craft supplies catalog. If you use your own clamp be sure it will lay flat while drilling. Luck!
    Bob

I agree. The short pen blanks are much easier to drill and less likely to blow out on ya during the process. Just remember to clear the bit often during the drilling process to keep down heat build up and allow the bit to cut better.
    Thanks & Happy Wood Chips,
    Dennis -
    Get the Benefits of Being an SMC Contributor..!
    ....DEBT is nothing more than yesterday's spending taken from tomorrow's income.

I always cut mine first. I have used some laminated woods that are contrasting so they are easier to drill square when you do one half at a time.

I always cut mine first as well. You'll need to drill over 5" to bore the single peice. Good chance for blowout and error.

I've been so busy getting my shop built I haven't had time for pen turning. I really need to get back at it. I have a whole pile of blanks ready for the lathe.

Good luck!
    One good turn deserves another