Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sawstop power question?

Sawstop power question?

I am about to pull the plug on a sawstop. My question is the dealer seems to think the 3hp 230V 13A is sufficient. I am a hobbyist so this is not a production shop. Has anyone had any bog down with it. I don't really have anything to gauge it agents My table saw now is a dewalt portable 15A 110V and I jam the blade up now and then and pop breakers ripping wood. Should I go for the 5hp 20.5A? If I do that means I need a 30A breaker, I already ran 1/3 for a 20A breaker. My dealer seems to think the 5hp is overkill is there any disadvantage to going more HP at this price I want to do it right one tome and hopefully never need another table saw.
    -=Jason=-

Plenty

3 HP on a 220 line is plenty of power unless you are ripping 4 inch thick maple. If you are used to 2 HP on a 110 line you are going to be amazed. Mine is 3 HP and I have never had any issues. Get the 5HP if it is important for you to have the biggest, most powerful table saw on the block. It is only like $200 more.

The dealer is correct, but somethimes it is hard to trust the dealer since he probably has the 3HP in stock and can move it out where he would have to order the 5HP.

Bigger is Better

One of the shops I work in occasionally has a 5 hp Unisaw. The difference is noticeable over a 3 hp saw, especially when running a dado head. Note that 5 hp is 66% more powerful than a 3 hp.

It will be quite sometime before I get a Sawstop (kids in college . . .), but I will definitely get the larger motor when I do.

TWH

I have a 3HP General 650 at home.

It rips 12/4 oak with ease, using a rip blade.

Using a fine tooth blade it rips hardwood plywood faster than you can feed the material by hand.

I've made oak hardwood flooring, and ripped 20 sheets of maple plywood into 3 3/4 inch strips using a power feeder set at 32 feet per minute for a volunteer project at a museum.

Dados are no problem, it hogs them out easily.