Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Tell Your Story: How Did You Get Hooked on Woodworking

Tell Your Story: How Did You Get Hooked on Woodworking

It seems that most woodworkers are passionate about the craft. I think it would be interesting to record how we got started and a brief history of our woodworking experiences.

Here is my story.

I first "got hooked" on making things by reading Popular Mechanics as a kid. I bought my first table saw at the age of 8. I still remember the add in the paper for it, $25 and it was a great saw! Even as a kid I wanted to see how things were built and figure out a way to do it myself.

When I was 17 I moved out on my own and rented a small house. I studied design magazines and wanted really cool (expensive) furniture for my empty house. By then my table saw was long gone, but I thought why not buy some good tools and make my own furniture. My first piece was a redwood and leather chair. It looked good but failed to hold-up. I found out why hardwoods and good joinery are needed.

From age 17 to 20 I had a shop in a rented basement with a Montgomery Ward radial arm saw as the only stationary machine. I got a job full time in a big (30 person) millwork shop. At night I made furniture for family and friends. I bought my first pro machine. I drove to the factory and got a Safety Speed Cut panel saw. What a step up that was!

By age 21 I bid on a big job making office furniture and got it. I quit my day job, bought a new Powermatic 66 table saw and became a self employed woodworker. This was in 1972 and the Delta Unisaw was the standard. The salesman told me "the 66 is new to the market but cost the same and is built better". They gave me no interest financing and it cost $500 total delivered, set in place and free on site help from the Powermatic rep!