Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: She's here, my new hot Italian beauty

She's here, my new hot Italian beauty

Finally upgraded my bandsaw. A move I've been contemplating for about 6 months now. After a lot of research I decided on an Agazzani B-20 which was delivered Friday. I got it from Jesse at Eagle Tools, and they were a pleasure to deal with. They shipped it on Wed, and sent it 2 day so it wouldn't sit on a dock over a weekend. I got it on Friday in perfect shape. The thing was crated unbelievably well. I was blown away when I opened the crate. Having seen lots of pictures I was still amazed at how beefy and well constructed this thing is when I saw it in my garage. The american tool makers could learn a thing or 2 from the Italians starting with the connection. No more trying to fit a 10 or 12 gauge cord through an opening made for 18 gauge. And wiring it up was simple. Not like my Delta/Grizzly/PM tools where you had to be a magician to bend the wires into places that take a contortionist. Anyway, hooked it up and went to align everything and it was perfect right out of the box. Eagle tools gets an A+ for their pre shipment checkout and setup, everything was dead on. Next I ran a few test scrap pieces of hard maple through the machine resawing at about 7" and it fed like butter, and I could not believe how little sanding the resultant veneer was.

The table was interesting. Not a smooth polished surface but it had tiny ridges built into it (see final pictures). I think this will be a real sturdy setup, and I had no cosmoline to clean up, and I don't have to worry about any scratches. While I dont think I'd like this surface as much on a jointer, I think that on a bandsaw this will be very servicable. Anyway on to some pictures.

Yikes, that is a monster. Let us know how it runs.

Nice jointer in the background by the way.
    Grady - "Thelma, we found Dean's finger"
    Thelma - "Where is the rest of him?!"