Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: The best way to MEASURE

The best way to MEASURE

This is probably a silly question but...... what are some good techniques as far as measuring before cutting?

I've done simple wood projects for a long time now with basic tools but have recently upgraded to a rail system (EZ smart) which has made my cutting abilities about 100 times more accurate than they were.

Which in turn has made me realize that although I can cut extremely accurately now , I now need to make sure my measurements (and markings on the wood) are perfect too.

Having been essentially self taught, I've always used basic things like tape measures, rulers, and simple squares..... but if anyone has any special tips or measuring techniques they can share, I would be grateful..... and perhaps something that is obvious to you might be new to me.

My next big project is kitchen cabinets and I've realized I need to be in the sub 1/16ths of accuracy which is maybe the width of a pencil line or blade width.

And while I can now cut that with the rail system no problem, I'm still not 100% confident I getting that kind of accuracy in my initial measurements of markings. Thanks!

Several basic things.........

1. Mechanical pencils. They have a much finer lead.
    2 Marking knives (I don't like these as well, but some do)
    3. There are rules like Incra, which have the slots for the mechanical pencils but
    4. Make a template, and use that for all your pieces. Once you have got it measured for, you use it between the blade and the stop/fence, for your good pieces that aren't under the rail.

The thing I am learning about measuring is to do it as little as possible. I will go out of my way to mark something based on the size of something else. For example, use a marking gage or combination square or something similar set to the size that you need, and mark your wood based on that.