Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Walnut Log

Walnut Log

I just had a conversation with a guy who cut down a large walnut tree about 5 months ago. Someone was supposed to buy the trunk but never showed up. Its been lying on the ground for the last five months. I am told it is about 10 feet long and three to four feet in diameter. Do you think this wood is still good? If there are cracks in the ends, couldn't i just cut off a foot or two from each side and still have good wood in the middle? I'd really like to cut it up for lumber.

Thanks!!

I'm no wood expert, but 40+ years ago, we used to salvage sunken logs. We would haul them out, stack them for air circulation, and a year later, cut the split ends off and sell them to the lumber mills.. Some of these logs had been underwater for over a hundred years.. So, can't see why you can't cut the ends off a 5 year old log and saw the rest, if it's rotten in the middle you'll find out soon enough..
    Epilog 24TT(somewhere between 35-45 watts), CorelX4, Photograv(the old one, it works!), HotStamping, Pantograph, Vulcanizer, PolymerPlatemaker, Sandblasting Cabinet, and a 30 year collection of Assorted 'Junque'

Every time you make a typo, the errorists win

I Have to think outside the box.. I don't fit in it anymore

Experience is a wonderful thing.
    It enables you to recognize a mistake when you make it again.

Every silver lining has a cloud around it

Nope - absolutely useless... Where's it at, I'll go get it out of the way tomorrow!

Seriously, if it's that long - you should be able to find several nice pieces in there. I had several like that left on my property by the guy who logged it. If it's something he couldn't get top dollar for at the mill, he left it for fire wood for me. I found several trunks that had some usable parts. Still air drying down in the barn...