Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: When to route?

When to route?

Hey everyone,

I just bought my first router yesterday!!! Slept with it last night (it didn't toss and turn a bit), and bought my first two bits today.

My question is simple...

I am making a picture frame. Do I route the edges before I glue it up or after? I would assume before, but then again I have never used a router before. (3/4" oak with a 1/2" roundover bit.)

Thanks,

Amy

You can do it either way. But just remember that you cannot rout an inside square corner with a round bit so if you want the profile on the inside of the frame, it's best to do the shaping first.
    David DeCristoforo

Amy,
    IF you are talking about the outside of the frame, I have always done it after. That way I can be sure that the routed edges will line up correctly at the corners and the frame will look more finished. The inside edge can also be done after the frame is together for the same reason but with this you will have to clean the corners up where the bit won't reach. IF you do route before you put the frame together, watch you depth of cut from one piece to the next to everything will line up correctly.

John

Amy,

Think about the rotation of the bit and how it meets the wood and whether or not you'll be going against the grain. Note that as you route around a piece of wood, the grain direction will change. Also note if the router is flowing along with you or if it wants to come back at you. You'll learn these things the easy way or the hard way but once you get the hang of it, routers are awesome tools than can do a lot!
    Wood: a fickle medium....

Did you know SMC is user supported? Please help.

Best thing to do is to do all your routing before you cut the stock to length. That way you don't accidently route into the mitered cut and ruin the piece.
    And I'm going to leave your first comment alone..... Jim.