Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What size K-body clamps should I buy?

What size K-body clamps should I buy?

Since Lowe's is blowing out their inventories of 24", 40" & 50" Bessey K-body clamps, I've been picking up a few on sale. I think I've got an even dozen now.

So far, these are the only sizes of K-bodies that I have in my shop as I'm still relatively new to woodworking. Are there other sizes I should be considering (especially given the current price reductions)?

Jason

Hi Jason-

I'm a newb so don't know much; take these comments with a few grains of salt.

I'd suggest making your clamp (and tool) acquisitions project-based. Consider the nect two or three projects your are committed to doing, decide what you need to complete those projets, and buy accordingly.

My $0.02

-Tom H.

Generally, that is how I make my tool purchases.

However, the Bessey K-bodies are being discontinued (the current models) and they are on sale all over the place -- for $10-20 off the price of each. We're talking major savings here for those of us who are looking to stock up.

My experience with clamps is that you never really know which ones you need until you need them. That said, I'm wondering from those with a lot of them (K-bodies in particular) which ones they use the most.

Jason

Quote Originally Posted by Tom Henderson2 View Post
    Hi Jason-

I'm a newb so don't know much; take these comments with a few grains of salt.

I'd suggest making your clamp (and tool) acquisitions project-based. Consider the nect two or three projects your are committed to doing, decide what you need to complete those projets, and buy accordingly.

My $0.02

-Tom H.

Clamp usage

I have several from 12" to 98" and definitely use the shortest the most -- 12"ers on most every project. If Lowe's doesn't have the 12's, I'd recommend the 24's. Most of what I do is small scale so your needs may vary.