Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First Machine to buy

First Machine to buy

I am only 19 but I have been working in a cabinet shop for the past three years and I want to start to accumulate some tools for myself in order to support my woodworking hobby in in the evenings. My cousin is wanting some builtin's for his basement so maybe that will put a dent in my start-up costs. I already have miter box, drills, router, and the normal hand tools. I assume you will all say that I need a table saw first, but every time I go over building something in my head I start to think of 5 other machines I would need to build it i.e. Planer, Jointer, Bandsaw, etc....

It also doesn't help that I am used to having all of that available at work everyday, not many people have the luxery of an 8'x12' SCMI Vertical panel saw at home!!

What do you all think of the Grizzly G1023SL
    http://www.grizzly.com/products/10-L...e-Saw/G1023SLW

Here is a cabinet for my brother and is average example of what I like to build except this is not a built-in of course
    I built this in the shop at work, but I get the feeling my boss doesn't want it to becom a habit for me.

I have a bunch of tools myself, but honestly the more I look at the EZ-Smart system, the more im thinking I need to change the way im thinking about tools and the way I work.

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/forumdisplay.php?f=26

Your situation is unique in that you have access to "big iron" at work. For that reason, you might consider making your initial investments in quality hand tools, routers, etc., before jumping into your own big iron. That said, the 1023SL is a very nice machine. But consider the newer model available from Griz that has a true riving knife. (I don't recall the model number but it's been discussed here from time to time)
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

It may be a rookie-like question, but what exactly is a riving knife??