Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Whats with the price of Jet Mini Lathes?

Whats with the price of Jet Mini Lathes?

I bought my Jet mini about in March of '07 on Amazon and paid $189 with free shipping. I was showing some pens to a guy at work and he seemed interested in getting a lathe. Told me the next day the Jet mini was $400. He didn't believe what I paid for mine and I didn't believe him on the price. I just looked and he's right. I'm an accountant and know our maintenance staff has been complaining about the price of steel going up 50% but this seems strange. Anybody know what is going on?

I sent him to Craft supplies USA since their price is $249 which is about the same as it was when I got my "deal" at Amazon.

Just wondering
    Determined to master the skew.....patience is a virtue

Around June 1st the prices on all lathes (Jet, Rikon, Powermatic) went up by
    about 50%. The reasoning was that the cost of fuel, the cost of manufacturing, and the weakening of the dollar caused this.

I had noticed the same thing the other day. I have the Jet 12x20 mini lathe and my dad is interested in getting one... They are like $500 now! I was SURE that I did not pay that much.

The cost of steel has been going through the roof irrc.

The cost of steel is a minor amount, as the cost of steel went from 80 cents to 120 cents a kilogram,(May 07 to May 08) and the lathe weights 37 KG, that would make the steel cost less than $15.-- extra, I assume there are some other reasons to increase the price.
    Have fun and take care

Even with my employee discount I couldn't justify a Jet! I went with the VS Steel City and I'm liking it so far.

The weak dollar