Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Sometimes woodworking is a big fat bummer

Sometimes woodworking is a big fat bummer

I'm trying to finish up this chest or drawers for my son who's clothes are literally cascading out of his closet. I finally put the first bit of color on it yesterday, only to discover one of the side panels has cracked .

I thought I did everything right with this piece, but obviously I did something wrong. It's made of maple, the grain between the top and sides is oriented the same way, and the case is joined with Dominos.

The AC is on in the shop and it looks like the drop in humidity caused the side to shrink, but the top either hasn't shrunk to match or it's shrinking at a different rate.

Is there anything I can do to repair the crack? Any ideas on what I can do differently next time? It's really a bummer to be so close to finishing this and discovering this!

Attached Images Attached Images

I am not very experienced in things of this nature, but how final is the piece? Can you take the top off and access the crack? A simple odd fix may be to put a pocket hole on the inside so that the screw would bridge across the gap and pull it together some, then filling the remaining gap with some wood filler.

I wouldn't rely on this fixing the crack, but it would give some support to stop the crack from spreading any more.

Kind of an odd fix, but like I said, not a whole lot of experience in this.

Nice piece by the way, I can appreciate your frustration.
    Grady - "Thelma, we found Dean's finger"
    Thelma - "Where is the rest of him?!"

I've had maple with that grain pattern at your crack. It has cracked on me too.
    IMO, it appears that the crack area is much harder than the wood surrounding it. Drastically Different densities expand and contract at different rates, you get crack.
    Since your crack is on the back of the piece I would just fill it and be done with it.

Finish