Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Stoning back of bandsaw blade?

Question Stoning back of bandsaw blade?

I had a friend tell me the other day he read in a magazine about holding a stone to the trailing edge of a bandsaw blade to put a slight bevel on it... he explained that it would help a narrow blade turn in curves easier and in straigth cuts it would decrease resistance and also help decrease drift. Is this true? Seems it would weaken the blade to me but I am new to bandsaws. Dad and I got a G0457 a few weeks ago and Im trying to get all the tricks I can but I have never heard of this one. Thanks, Jeff
    Last edited by Jim Becker; 09-08-2008 at 7:45 PM. Reason: Changed thread icon from thumbs down...

Probably true, the amount removed from the may provide an additional turning ability? A stone is generally used to smooth a welding blob. If you are looking to gather further information ~ Bandsaws and Blades information sites
    Tony Ward

David Marks recommends doing this when tuning up a bandsaw. Don't know about you guys, but David has much street cred in my book.

Marc "The Wood Whisperer" Spagnuolo demonstrates the same technique in his bandsaw video.

You can buy little grinders on a stick for grinding the back of a bandsaw blade. I have one and it works great.

My video mentors, David Marks and Marc Spagnuolo both recommend doing that.

edit: Pat, you beat me to it.

Yep, and and wrap it all the way around the back to remove any burrs on the back edge which can nik up face of your thrust bearings. Just about any stone will do - even one of those cheap carborundum brick things for garden tools.
    - Tom