Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help a Newbie - Planes and Waterstones

Help a Newbie - Planes and Waterstones

Hi All,

I have a question about the results of my sharpening efforts. I'm pretty new to all this, but I have read Lee's Guide To Sharpening and feel I have pretty good idea of what to expect.

Here's the deal. Using the Lee Valley Low Angle Jack Plane and the blade in question has a 25* main bevel. To sharpen I'm using 1200 and 4000 grit waterstones and the LV Mk2 honing guide. I'm not using the camber roller assembly. The plane seems to be working as expected and even a newbie like me is getting some nice thin shavings with little effort.

In terms of sharpening what I see is the cutting marks, left by the water stones, have a distinct curve. My related question is, is this expected? See the photo below ... I would have thought the cut from the stones would be parallel to the edge. As of this photo I've touched up the edge twice so far.

Is this just the nature of the LV Blade?

Does this cut pattern indicate a problem with my technique?

Seems to cut ok, so maybe I just should not sweat it?

I'm also seeing something similar though less pronounced when sharpening a smaller 38* blade for the LV LA Block Plane.

I'm using a flattening stone to keep the cutting surfaces of the stones flat and according to some decent straight edges everything should be flat.

So that's about it. I'd love to hear some comments/suggestions from the neander community ... you guys are great and SMC is proving to be a wonderful resource for me.

Have Fun!
    Dave

That looks like the result of a dished stone. Another possibility is that you are putting more pressure on the corners than the middle of the iron when you hone. Waterstones, especially the 1000 are very soft and will wear very fast.