Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Jury rejection questions?

Unhappy Jury rejection questions?

I applied the the IAC (Indiana arts commission) for the Indiana Artisan Development Project. I was rejected. The information in the rating sheet was not clear in my mind. I am not good at reading between the lines so I wondered if anyone here could help me out.

The jury states "Beautiful wood, nice lines.", "Very well designed – I really like these pieces" and "Evidence of craftsmanship. Some beautiful pieces submitted" but then states "Skilled but lack of consistency in pieces." What would you take from that statement?

"Varied – wanted to see more types" Doesn't that seem to be a contradiction in terms?

Multiple times they stated that they needed to see more samples. I emailed them multiple pictures (the way I understood it you could only submit 5 pictures) of two pieces and then delivered to them in person six pieces. How many pieces should I have taken?

And then to totally confuse me one of the last statements was "Great fit for IADP" and I was rejected.

Any thoughts?

Here are some of the pieces I submitted in person.

And here is one of the pieces I submitted by email.

TIA

Toney

Tony, while these are all very nice turnings, there is nothing that jumps out at me and says, "Tony did these". In the very competitive juried event world, that's pretty important since there are many people who do great work, but a much smaller number who can be readily identified just by seeing the work.

Of these pieces, only the second one made me look twice for some reason...it's visually more unique than the others.
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

Toney,