Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Flattening sole #5 tale of Woe...

Flattening sole #5 tale of Woe...

Hello Everyone,

I'm Needing Help...

I'm a beginner woodworker with some advanced training in futility. I successfully flattened the sole of a new/modern Stanley#4 a few years ago while a student in the Fundamentals of Fine Woodworking class at the North Bennett Street School in Boston. But now I'm on my own and having great difficulty with my used Bailey #5. I have a piece of glass that's about 3/8" thick and flat within about .001" along its 20" length and 8 inch width. It sits on a not truly flat but pretty close piece of board (melamine faced shelf board) on a workbench top that is not truly flat. I affixed Norton "3X" 100 grit sandpaper to the glass with spray adhesive (3M #77) and started lapping the sole. The plane was fully assembled and the blade fully retracted.

Things seemed to be getting better - until they started getting worse. At the end of it all I have a slightly convex sole: the toe and heel are out of flat with the area around the mouth by about .0015". Looking at flatness across the sole: out of flat with a wandering midline lengthwise "hump" by .001-.002" or more. I'm guessing the errors are due to my lapping technique - my grip on the plane, stance, etc. - and maybe also the lack of a truly flat lapping surface.

So now I am not sure where to go from here. I would very much like to get this thing done successfully myself but I am 5'6" tall woman with medium sized hands, not especially strong, and now wonder if I am capable of accurately lapping a plane this large. I also have an old used #7 that needs tuning. I am not going to be able to fettle that one by hand... (right?)

Do you all have any advice or technique suggestions?

I have a Grizzly 9x12 granite surface but this #5 plane is 14 inches long so I can't use that plate - is this correct?