Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Yet Another DC Thread...my head is spinning...long post...

Yet Another DC Thread...my head is spinning...long post...

Hello Everyone,

I have been studying SMC's dust collection threads and Bill Pentz's website since Saturday afternoon in search of a workable solution. My brain is fried so I would like to ask for your advice to get me back on track, help me think through this thing. Given my situation - which I describe below - what dust collection system would meet my CFM needs, fit in my small shop, and protect the breathing and hearing health of me and my family? Oh, this should only take a moment...

I am a hobbyist woodworker. Current goals: complete the construction of my shop and then build acoustic guitar(s) with beautiful but nasty woods such as rosewoods, mahogany, spruce, red cedar, ebony, koa. I plan to resaw quite a bit of those woods within the next year. My shop is in the basement of my house - both are small.
    - Shop dimensions: 8 feet x 22 feet with 88 inches between concrete floor and the joists in the ceiling.
    - Power tools: Jet 6 inch jointer, MiniMax S16 bandsaw, Performax 16-32 drum sander, benchtop spindle sander, Ryobi 12 inch planer, Jet belt-disc sander combo (6x48 inch belt and 9 inch disc), JDS 750 air filter suspended from the ceiling
    *AND*
    a Jet 650 DC with an AFF felt bag.