Thread: Assemble first or finish first?

Assemble first or finish first?

I am a newbie and I am making a cherry bookcase for my son. The carcass is 3/4 cherry plywood.

I want to shellac, but I don't know if I should shellac first, then assemble the carcass...or shellac after assembly.

Any words of wisdom?

If I can do so without contaminating joinery with finish, I generally find it easier to get a quality finish on the unassembled components (especially something with lots of detail, corners, etc..) This also eliminates the possibility of glue residue interfering with stain and/or finish penetration. Glue squeeze out is very easy to remove from pre-finished parts. Depending on the final finish, a final coat might be able to be applied after assembly.

Of course if you're spraying on the finish, that's a different story.

-kg

Quote Originally Posted by Kevin Groenke View Post
    ..[snip]..

Of course if you're spraying on the finish, that's a different story.
    For me, the biggest argument for prefiinishing is to make the spraying work. I use an HVLP. It blows so much air around that it doesn't do a good job in concave areas like drawer boxes or cabinets with closed backs. I now design stuff so that any concave assemblies get sprayed before they get assembled.

I'm with Jamie on this and I generally do cabinetry components before assembly, masking off any glue/assembly areas. The masking takes time, but it's a lot easier to spray flat components than to point a gun into a box and get it back in one's face...

If you are applying the shellac with a brush, then it pretty much is just as easy to do it post-assembly. (Do note that shellac requires a little different technique than a varnish when you brush it...be sure you practice before you do your real project)
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...