Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Swan Neck?

Swan Neck?

Sorry, I don't get the swan neck. What's the difference between the swan and a cutter set at 45 degrees from the shaft?

I've never used the swan but have used offset cutters. Offsetting can get into some acute angles where swans seem limited.

Am I missing something?

Thanks,
    Burt

Burt I use a swan neck for getting from the opening of a HF to the sharp corners especially when you get some fairly wide HF's. It makes it so much easier to reach into those corners. If your HF is pretty rounded then the 45* tool works just fine.
    Bernie

Never put off until tomorrow what you can do the day after tomorrow.

To succeed in life, you need three things: a wishbone, a backbone and a funnybone.

Swan Neck chisel

Burt,

I'm new at this, so I may be wrong,,,again. When I use my hand made swan neck chise,l it is to reach into the cavity of a hollow form to in creace the interior diameter. The head of the swan reaches through the opening of the hollow form and nibbles away at the interior.

The purpose of the neck is two fold. It creates an offset to reach in with and it puts the cutting edge on the centerline of the tool shank to prevent the tool from catching and rotating. The shank, not the neck rest on the tool rest.

Bob
    Attached Images Attached Images

I have a large swan neck.. Even though I use it when absolutley necessary, I don't enjoy it. I thought it would make hollowing easy on shallow hollow forms but I was wrong. I never seem to get the angle of the cutter right.. Lots of catches, long sessions of very ineffective turning. ( lots of noise/chatter, with small amounts of shavings) Nobody seems to be able to tell me how to make it work better. Either it's trying to catch, or it seems like it needs sharpening. Maybe I'll figger it out eventually.
    "Goverment is not the solution to our problems. Goverment IS the problem" - Ronald Reagan