Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Bye bye Ryobi

Bye bye Ryobi

I've given up on trying to get my Ryobi 18v drill fixed. The chuck won't hold hardly anything anymore. Worse, I tried to request information from their website and it rejected my request with one of the incredibly lame messages "Request rejected for unknown reasons." Phooey.

I'm not fond of their impact drive either so as soon as I find a replacement pair, up they go to CraigsList.

So. I need a decent drill and impact drive pair that won't break the bank. I'm not a professional and use the drill(s) about 2-3 times a week for light chores. I have a cheap HF 1/2" corded drill for heavy work that thinks it's the Energizer Bunny.

I don't want keyless unless there is a quick & easy conversion readily available. I'm also not adverse to reconditioned.

Looking forward to your replies,
    Burt

The Makita drill/driver pair gets lots of good reviews.

I have an 18V (NiCD) Ridgid set and I love them aside from the weight (it can use the 24V LithIon batteries too, just never got around to buying any)

You won't find a consensus here.

I've been happy with my Makita 18v LiIon set. You can often get a good deal at BORG on these units.

If you don't want to go LiIon, Dewalts have a good history

"You won't find a consensus here."
    Indeed - you're going to get flooded with "I like brand XXX". The important point is that regardless of how lightly you use it, a cheap tool is, well - cheap. The saying of "buy well, cry once, buy cheap, cry often" is very true.

If you want re-conditioned, most of the major (good) brands like Makita, DeWalt, Milwaulkee, etc... have factory stores where they sell factory reconditioned models. I'm not sure about Makita or Milwaulkee, but most big cities have a walk-in DeWalt factory store. That may be your best bet to get a good tool ar a reasonable price.

I've had good service from my 12v DeWalts. Batteries do start to degrade after 2 years, but thats my only complaint.