Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: MRI Question

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

MRI Question

My doc tells me I need an neck MRI to diagnose some arm pain that may be starting in the neck. On the phone the MRI facility asked me if I had ever been involved with "metal grinding". Of course as a woodworker I've sharpened tools on a wheel, drilled holes in metal etc. I'm hoping to get more answers from the techs tomorrow but has anyone here been through this? Are they concerned about stuff in the eye or ? that might be pulled by the magnet. Any information would be appreciated -- this is all rather alarming!

Blog Entries
    Yes, they're concerned about metal, though unless you have any chunks embedded in your skin I wouldn't worry about it. Drilling a few holes or sharpening some tools is not the same as working metal all day long.

The gauss level in an MRI machine is pretty impressive, and it can rip metallic implants right out of your body.
    Hi-Tec Designs, LLC -- Owner (and self-proclaimed LED guru )

Trotec 80W Speedy 300 laser w/everything
    CAMaster Stinger CNC (25" x 36" x 5")
    USCutter 24" LaserPoint Vinyl Cutter
    Jet JWBS-18QT-3 18", 3HP bandsaw
    Robust Beauty 25"x52" wood lathe w/everything
    Jet BD-920W 9"x20" metal lathe
    Delta 18-900L 18" drill press

Flame Polisher (ooooh, FIRE!)
    Freeware: InkScape, Paint.NET, DoubleCAD XT
    Paidware: Wacom Intuos4 (Large), CorelDRAW X5

Blog Entries
    Likely a routine question.

There is some very strong magnetics going on during an MRI. The hardest part is keeping still while they are making the images.

After about 60 years of age depending on how wreak-less one was during life it becomes difficult each morning to determine if you have more aches or more pains.