Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sanding Sealer & BLO Questions

Sanding Sealer & BLO Questions

I'm a rank amateur in most things, especially wood finishing. I'm working on a trinket box, with sides and top of padauk. I've sanded to 220 grit, and tonight I put a coat of BLO on it. After closer examination, I see quite a few open pores in the padauk that I'd like to fill, so I can get a smooth, glossy finish. I know very little about sanding sealers, but from what I've read here it seems that might be what I'm looking for to fill the pores. So...the questions:

Will a sanding sealer fill the pores?
    Can I apply a sealer over BLO?
    Did I shoot myself in the foot by applying a coat of BLO already? (In other words, did I already BLO it?)

If the answers to the above questions are NO, NO and YES, what would you Creekers suggest to get a smooth glossy finish? (The box is natural-color padauk and maple.)

Any suggestions are welcome -

- Vaughn

Unless you are using lacquer, "sanding sealers" are just another way to get money out of you and will, in fact, weaken your finish. The searates in them (that make sanding easy and also act as a filler) are very soft, which means you end up with a soft finish under your "hard" top coat. (Lacquer sanding sealers are different as they become "one" with the top coats and don't have the negative properties of "regular" sanding sealers)