Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Happy to make your acquaintance

Happy to make your acquaintance

Hello,

I'm new to your forum and thought it might be appropriate to introduce myself. I've been reading many posts on this site and I must say how impressed I am with the range of knowledge, level of encouragement, and overall civility of the site. I see work displayed from various skill levels and everyone offers support and constructive comments. Reading through the profiles I find many contemporaries and kindred spirits, but not too many west of the Mississippi! Perhaps I have just not read enough yet!

I’ve also noticed that it is somewhat customary that when someone introduces him or herself that they also offer some of their work as a means of establishing skill level (or lack of as in my case). I am a hobby woodworker with two primary goals for my avocation; first, to be able to reach a skill level that will allow me to build functional and attractive items for my friends and loved ones, and two, to become proficient enough to make a little extra money in retirement (hopefully no more than 10 years down the road).