Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: new Longworth chuck

new Longworth chuck

This is the first time I've used my new Longworth chuck that I built.
    Works good. (My Cole jaws will be up for sale soon.)
    I have a Corel .cdr for one that will fit a Jet mini (about 10") if anyone with a laser wants it. I'll also post some details and a pdf for using a router or scroll saw. If anyone is interested just ask.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Jerry Allen; 08-20-2007 at 11:05 AM. Reason: picture needed rotating

The jaws look great. I would be interested in the details for making this with a route. Thanks.

Me too, I would be interested in the pdf file, many thanks
    Tioraidh an-drasda (gaelic for Cheerio just now)
    Colin .
    One good turn deserves another,

Longworth Chuck

Just curious, what is the advantage of the Longworth chuck over Cole jaws? I have been using the Cole jaws for a couple of years now and except for the inconvenience of having to change the button positions for various sizes it has been very useful.

Thanks,

Ken

Quote Originally Posted by Ken George View Post
    Just curious, what is the advantage of the Longworth chuck over Cole jaws? I have been using the Cole jaws for a couple of years now and except for the inconvenience of having to change the button positions for various sizes it has been very useful.

Thanks,

Ken
    The inconvenience of having to change the buttons.
    On this one you just loosen 6 wingnuts, adjust like a scroll chuck, Tighten the wingnuts, done...
    Also the black buttons on my Cole used to leave black marks which were difficult or impossible to remove. This one does not.

Here's a quick .pdf.
    Hope it's enough info.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Jerry Allen; 08-20-2007 at 6:29 PM.

Note: