Thread: Lunch-box Planer: DW734 vs DW735

Lunch-box Planer: DW734 vs DW735

I am extremely new to woodworking (just started a couple of months ago, after finally buying a house and taking over one half of my 2 car garage!). I plan on building my skills slowly, starting with small and simple projects and progressing towards more involved ones as I learn.

Before I go any further, I just want to say that I believe SMC is a wonderful place. I am always amazed by the skill of the people around here and their willingness to share information and help each other.

...now on to the question:

After reading many threads around here, I have pretty much settled on Dewalt for my first benchtop planer. The question now is which one to choose, the 734 or the 735?

The 734 goes for ~$400 and the 735 for ~$550 (when you include the extension tables). As I understand, the extra 1/2 inch, dust ejection chute and two speeds are the main differences between the two. Is there something else I am missing? Is the extra weigth of the 735 a substantial plus? (i.e.: less vibration) is the 735 built to better standards?

I am ready to spend the extra money for the 735 if warranted, but so far, the 734 looks like it can meet my needs nicely.

Any input is greatly appreciated!
    Last edited by Augusto Orosco; 01-28-2008 at 1:57 PM.

Blog Entries
    I have the 734 and my dad has the 735. The 734 uses a carriage lock, the 735 design "locks automatically". The 735 had reports of shorter than expected knife life and my dad hasn't done enough on his for me to comment. I have been running the same knives on my 734 for over a year but I am only a hobbyist, an aggressive hobbyist but a hobbyist nonetheless.

I don't run 100 lineal feet through the planer in one setting as some folks do. I have made a dozen large projects all requiring the planer so it has seen some use. I have run it for the better part of an hour off and on without issue.